FAB Awards
  • Hero1

    FAB 2018 Awards

    Celebrating success in awarding.

    Entry open to all FAB members.


FAB 2018 Award Winners

FAB 2018 Awards winners were announced at the annual awards dinner held during the FAB 2018 Conference, Awards and Exhibition, which brought together over 450 awarding and assessment professionals.
The winners announced on the night were:

Sponsored by Creatio
Awarding Organisation of the Year

Awarding Organisation of the Year

Highfield Qualifications

Having invested over £2 million to improve its central management and on-screen exam system and with an increase of 25% in staffing levels, Highfield has managed to achieve a 92% good-to-excellent customer satisfaction. Now with 6 qualifications in the top 50, it is the leading awarding body in a number of fields and has become the 3rd largest awarding organisation, in the process winning the Queen’s Award for Enterprise and a Gold award for learning technology.

Sponsored by Coelrind
Qualification of the Year

Qualification of the Year

CIH Level 3 in Supporting Homeless People

Latest figures show that statutory homelessness has jumped by 41 per cent since 2009 and rough sleeping has soared by 169 per cent since 2010. This qualification was designed to help councils, housing associations and housing charities carry out one of their (and indeed society’s) most important roles – supporting victims of homelessness and preventing people from becoming homeless.

Sponsored by PSI
Outstanding Contribution of the Year

Outstanding Contribution of the Year

Joanne Creeden, Agored Cymru

Jo is described by colleagues as “the glue which holds us together” and as “pivotal and central to the organisation”. Over the years she has totally reconfigured all the processes for regulatory compliance, trained the other new managers, supported 250-plus centres offering the body’s accreditation while protecting the integrity of over 400 qualifications. She has also played a prominent role in the external regulatory working group in Wales.

Sponsored by Gordon Associates
Learner of the Year

Learner of the Year

Luke Rees, Sports Leaders UK

Luke has maximised every learning opportunity as a means of self-development, combining formal qualifications from numerous awarding bodies with voluntary roles with significant national campaigns and board positions to not only gain more experience but to help other young people realise their learner journey also.

Sponsored by Smart Assessor
Collaboration of the Year

Collaboration of the Year

STA collaboration with experts from the world open water swimming to create specialist coaching qualification

By bringing together the best in the industry for the first time, Safety Training Awards has created a compelling open water coaching level 2 qualification that uniquely covers all aspects of coaching open water swimming and in the long-term will serve to improve safety standards and promote coaching excellence.

Sponsored by Advanced Secure Technologies
Innovation of the Year

Innovation of the Year

Active IQ Flair for Fitness Platform

The Flair for Fitness platform is a pioneering technology which uses a sophisticated algorithm to measure a Personal Trainer’s (PT’s) performance and success, based on input from themselves, their employer and clients. Flair is a real step forward for the physical activity specific awarding sector, delivering a much needed measurement of training, assessment and performance.



Headline sponsor of FAB 2018 Awards

Creatio provides a wide range of services to Awarding Organisations (AO):

Consultancy services from independent audits; on-going regulatory advice and support and trouble-shooting; AO recognition applications to sitting on committees as a regulatory advisor. Our consultants are ex-AO and/or regulatory staff and have gained AO recognition for numerous organisations under the General Conditions and therefore have an excellent understanding of regulatory requirements and expectations.

The creatiogreen system – an intuitive centre and AO focussed workflow solution that is configured to meet an AO’s needs and underpins their Governance, Qualification Development, Centre Management and Learner Registration/Certification processes. It has been expanded to support the end-to-end AAO/EPA lifecycle from apprenticeship set-up, to enrollment/registration to the booking and allocation of external assessors as well as holding achievement outcomes and evidence.

Visit us during the conference to find out more. Phone Alan Long on 07985 193 541, email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or visit our website www.creatio.org.uk


Sponsored by