Finalists announced for prestigious Awards for the awarding industry


Finalists announced for prestigious Awards for the awarding industry

Friday, 31 August 2018

A record number of entries were received for the prestigious FAB 2018 Awards.

Now in its fourth year, the FAB Awards recognises the contributions made by awarding organisations and their employees to education and skills in the UK over the past year.

The FAB 2018 Awards dinner, sponsored by Creatio, is being held at the end of the first day of the FAB Conference, on 18 October at the Marriott Hotel in Leicester.

Tom Bewick, FAB Chief Executive, said “the FAB Awards is an opportunity for the industry to come together to celebrate success and share good practice. We received record numbers of entries for the FAB Awards this year and the standard as always has been exceptionally high. We look forward to announcing the winners at the Awards dinner on 18 October.”

The finalists are:

Awarding Organisation of the Year - Sponsored by Creatio

  • Active IQ
  • AIM Awards
  • Gateway Qualifications
  • Highfield Qualifications
  • NCFE
  • NOCN

Qualification of the year - Sponsored by Coelrind 

  • NCFE CACHE Level 2 Certificate in Understanding Behaviour that Challenges
  • CIH Level 3 in Supporting Homeless People
  • RHS Level 4 Diploma in Horticultural Practice (DHP)
  • Ascentis Level 1 Award in Mental Health & Well-being
  • Qualsafe Level 3 Certificate in First Response Emergency Care (RQF) 

Collaboration of the Year - Sponsored by Smart Assessor 

  • ABE collaboration with The Entrepreneurs Network to raise awareness about how more could be done to support vulnerable businesses through education
  • Agored Cymru collaboration with skills competition experts to support education practitioners to develop future skills excellence competitors
  • Qualsafe collaboration with Medipro to produce registered Paramedic programme
  • Sports Leaders UK collaboration with Health Education England and Youth Sports Trust to create a pathway to employment opportunities in the NHS
  • STA collaboration with experts from the world open water swimming to create specialist coaching qualification

Learner of the Year - Sponsored by Gordon Associates

  • Judith Mair, EAL
  • Joe Seddon, FDQ
  • Sai Ywet Tai, NCC Education
  • Kayleigh Milne, ACCA
  • Luke Rees, Sports Leaders UK

Outstanding Contribution of the Year - Sponsored by PSI 

  • Gareth Owen, ACCA
  • Joanne Creeden, Agored Cymru
  • Lindsay Price, Ascentis
  • Toby McClane, Qualsafe
  • Katie Orr, TQUK

Innovation of the year - Sponsored by Advanced Secure Technologies 

  • ACCA Ethics and Professional Skills Module
  • Active IQ Flair for Fitness Platform
  • Agored Cymru Learning Core Qualification
  • Qualsafe 2-year Registered Paramedic Programme