FAB 2021 Awards – winners announced!

November 11, 2021

The awarding and assessment industry celebrates success at the FAB 2021 Awards.

The FAB Awards recognises the contributions made by awarding organisations and their employees to education and skills in the UK over the past year.

Now in its sixth year, the FAB 2021 Awards dinner, sponsored by Creatio, was held at the end of the first day of the FAB Conference, on 11 November at the Marriott Hotel in Leicester.

Tom Bewick, FAB Chief Executive, said: ‘This year we received an abundance of excellent nominations for the FAB Awards, all of which were of a very high standard and demonstrated the commitment of our members to learners and the sector. I am immensely proud of how our industry has risen to the challenges of the last two years and I have heard and seen so many examples of excellence demonstrated by individuals and teams pulling together to support one another as well as centres, employers and of course learners. It was a privilege to announce the awards winners this evening, along with my co-host Jackie Weaver.’

The Awards were independently judged by Rt Hon Anne Milton, Stella Mbubaegbu CBE, Executive Member of the Black FE Leadership Group and Larissa Kennedy, President of National Union of Students.

On behalf of the judges, Rt Hon Anne Milton commented:

We were incredibly impressed at how well awarding organisations have overcome the significant challenges they faced during the pandemic. This has only been possible due to the hard work and dedication of so many staff. What shone through all the entries is the commitment to learners and to the sector as a whole. It was a privilege and inspiration for us to be asked to judge the entries and although not everyone is a winner, they are all worthy of special mention.

The winners are:

  • Awarding Organisation of the Year – Sponsored by Creatio: NEBOSH
  • End Point Assessment Organisation of the year – Sponsored by RM: City and Guilds
  • Qualification of the year – Sponsored by Coelrind: Open College Network West Midlands with Level 5 Diploma in Retrofit Coordination and Risk Management
  • Collaboration of the Year – Sponsored by Civica: NCFE and WorldSkills UK : WorldSkills UK Centre of Excellence
  • Learner of the Year – Sponsored by Eintech: Deepak Ranindran nominated by CMI
  • Individual of the Year – Sponsored by Gordon Associates: Joint winners: Kelle McQuade and Andrew Walker from Training Qualifications UK
  • Innovation of the year – Sponsored by Advanced Secure Technologies: CMI with Interview360 and CV360
  • Exporter of the Year – Sponsored by TestReach: Active IQ

The press release can be accessed here.